St Barnabas Church dates from the 14th century and is at the heart of the community in Queen Camel, a village in south Somerset equidistant from the towns of Yeovil and Sherborne to the south. We form part of the Cam Vale Benefice within the Bruton & Cary Deanery in the Diocese of Bath & Wells.
We strive to offer support and fellowship to everyone through a wide range of services and formats each month which cater for young and old alike. These are always followed by refreshments and fellowship which form an integral part of our time together.
For those contemplating weddings, baptisms and funerals, we offer guidance and support to families and individuals throughout our community and also to the younger members through Camel Club and to mothers and small children with Bumps, Tots & Toddlers. When people are facing particular challenges in their daily lives, we offer practical support.
Continually we try to discover new ways of taking the church to the people by holding Songs of Praise style services outside during the summer; taking our Rogation Service on a local farm; visiting groups of the elderly in their community centre and carol singing around the village in December.
Looking after our church building and churchyard in as environmentally-friendly manner as possible is continually at the forefront of our minds. Much of the impetus for this has been led by the children in the parish.
See more of our beautiful church in this aerial video.
ALL SERVICES AT ST BARNABAS ARE CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE
CORONA VIRUS ANNOUNCEMENT
In light of the Government guidance around non-essential contact, the Archbishops of Canterbury and York have issued advice that public worship is suspended until further notice. Further Government advice (23rd March) has now stated that churches will be locked until such time as they advise their reopening. Our churchyard remains open with daffodils in full bloom and benches where visitors can sit and appreciate our peaceful surroundings.
We continue to collect items for the Lord’s Larder which is desperately in need of supplies. Since the Corona Virus outbreak, people are ordering their supermarket supplies online with the result that donations have diminished dramatically. At the same time, demand is increasing with each day. Please contact the Church Wardens if you have items you wish to donate.
The History of Our Church
The first mention of a church consisting of just a nave was in 1291. This was the forerunner of the present Church with extensive rebuilding taking place in the 14th and 15th centuries. The stonework is in Blue Lias and carved work in Hamstone.
The Tower (c1380) was built up against the earlier nave and is unique in Somerset being the only one created in five stages to a height of 96 ft. On completion of the tower, the nave roof was lifted to its present height and the north and south aisles constructed. This took place around 1400 as well as windows inserted on each side, greatly increasing the amount of light inside the building.
Within the nave can be found several notable features including the font, pulpit and lectern as well as the impressive Rood Screen.